I.  Complete the following statements by selecting the correct
alternative given below each statement :

(1) Goa came under Portuguese rule in 1510.

(a) 1410                                    (b) 1510
(c) 1610                                    (d) 1710

(2) In 1583, the historical revolt against the Portuguese rule took place at Cuncolim.

(a) Bicholim                  (b) Siolim
(c) Cuncolim                 (d) Panaji

(3) Dr.Lohia continued Goa’s freedom movement from Belgaum on the  advice of Mahatma Gandhi .

(a) Mahatma Gandhi             (b) Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru
(c) Dr.Juliao Menezes           (d) Vishwanath Lawande

II.  Answer the following questions in one sentence each :

(1)  Mention any two early revolts organised by the Goans against the  Portuguese rule.
Ans :  Revolt in Cuncolim 1583 and The Pinto Revolt of 1787.

(2)  Name two Goans Freedom fighters who had actively participates in  The Quit India Movement.
Ans :  Peter Alvares and Vishwanath Lawande.

(3)  Why was the Azad Gomantak Dal established in Goa?
Ans : 
The Azad Gomantak Dal was established to carry out an armed struggle against the Portuguese rule.

(4)  What was the objective of the Goa Vimochan Samiti?
Ans : 
The only objective of The Goa Vimochan Samiti was to liberate Goa from the Portuguese rule.

(5)  Name the Indian Defence Ministers who decided to use military force  to liberate Goa.
Ans :  V.K Krishna Menon was the Indian minister who decided to use military  force to liberate Goa.

III.  Answer each of the following questions in two sentences:

(1)  What were the two major aim of the Goa Congress Committee?
Ans : 
The two aims of the Goa Congress Committee were :
(1) To free Goa the Portuguese rule.
(2) To integrate Goa with mother India.

(2)  Write about any two activities carried out by the Gomantakiya Tarun Sangha.
Ans :

(1) It organised a Swayam Sevak Dal.
(2) It opened a library and .
(3) Published the Marathi periodical “Uttejan”.

(3)  What role was played by the Goa Seva Sangh in Goa’s Freedom struggle?
Ans :  

(1) The organisation was inspired by Gandhian philosophy and followed the principles of Satyagraha and Swadeshi.
(2) The Goa Seva Sangh advocated the spinning of cloth on the charkha.

IV.  Give reasons for the following statements:

(1)  Early Revolts against the Portuguese were unsuccessful.
Ans :

(1) The Revolts did not have a broad and active support base.
(2) They were localised in nature.

(2)  Dr.T.B Cunha is rightly called the “Father of Goa’s Freedom struggle”.
Ans :

(1) T.B Cunha established the Goa Congress Committee to free Goa from the Portuguese rule and integrated her with mother India.
(2) The Goa Congress Committee was the first political organisation which made the people of Goa aware of the nature of the Portuguese rule and their civil liberties.

(3)  Mohan Ranade was deported to Portugal for 26 years of imprisonment.
Ans :

(1) Under the leadership of Mohan Ranade a number of attacks were organised in the police stations and the members of the Azad Gomantak Dal attacked the police station at Mapusa.
(2) They fought with the Portuguese soldiers at Pomburpa, raided the Cuncolim outpost, stopped the traffic and cut telephone wires.

(4)  Dr.Lohia addressed the Goans in Margao in June 1946.
Ans :

(1) Dr.Lohia had come to Goa to rest, but the leaders met him at Assolna.
(2) He was informed about the wrong policies of the Portuguese Government.
(3) He advised the people to launch a massive movement for civil Liberties against the Portuguese rule.

V.  Answer the following questions in four sentences each :

(1)  What repressive measures were taken by Dr. Salzar in Goa?
Ans :

(1) Dr. Salzar was a dictator in Portugal, he implemented the Act to Colonial in Goa according to which the civil liberties of the people were abolished.
(2) There was censorship of the press and newspapers coming from Outside.
(3) All political parties except the “Uniao Nacional “were banned.
(4) Dr. Salzar tried his best to see that he had a firm control over the activities in Goa.

(2)  Why is 18th June celebrated as the “Revolutionary Day”?
Ans :

(1) On 18th June 1946, Dr. Lohia was greeted with the slogan “Jai Hind” at the Margao railway station.
(2) Dr. Lohia was to address a public meeting to challenge the ban on civil liberties.
(3) He was arrested and taken to the Margao police station.
(4) The women also participated in the movement.

(3)  How did the Portuguese obstruct the Satyagraha of 1954?

(1) The National Congress Goa launched its first Satyagraha in Goa on 15th August, 1954.
(2) Thousands of satyagraha is were expected to participate.
(3) Still a large number of satyagraha is managed to enter Goa.

(4)  Describe the Satyagraha of 1955.
Ans :

(1) The Satyagraha of 1955 was organised by the Azad Gomantak Dal.
(2) Around four thousand satyagraha is from different parts of India participated .
(3) Under the leadership of Mohan Ranade a number of attacks were planned on police stations and the members attacked the police station at Mapusa.
(4) They clashed with the Portuguese soldiers at Pomburpa, raided the Cuncolim outpost, stopped the traffic and cut the telephone wires.

(5)  Explain ‘ Operation Vijay’ undertaken to liberate Goa from the Portuguese Rule.
Ans :

(1) In 1961, V.K.Krishna Menon India’s foreign minister decided to use military forces liberate Goa from the Portuguese rule.
(2)‘Operation Vijay’ was placed under command of General Chaudhari and directed by Major General Candeth.
(3) Indian groups were sent to Belgaum, Vapi and Una and were instructed to attack Goa Daman Diu.
(4) The two main routes that connected Goa to India were sealed to help the movement of the Indian Army who entered Goa from the North, East and South.
(5) On 19th December 1961 the Indian troops arrived at Panaji from the Betim side and Major General Candeth hoisted the Indian National Flag.

VI.   Match the following pairs:

                            A                     B
(1) Gomantakiya Tarun Sangha (a) Dr.Ram Hegde
(2) Goa Seva Sangha (b) Dr.T.B Cunha
(3) Goa Congress Committee (c) Purushottam Kakodkar
(4) National Congress Goa (d) Shyamrao Madkaikar
(e) Dr.Juliao Menezes

(1) – (d),              (2) – (c),                (3) – (b),                 (4) – (a) .